When did Manchester United last win the Premier League?

Manchester United 2012-13 Alex Ferguson Premier League trophy

It took Sir Alex Ferguson many years, but he eventually did knock Liverpool off their perch and helped Manchester United become the most decorated club in English league history.

So, when was the last time the Premier League title found a home at Old Trafford? Goal brings you all the details about their most recent triumph.

The 2012-13 season was the last time Manchester United won the Premier League. They finished 11 points clear of second-place Manchester City, having secured the title with four games to spare.

It was United’s 20th English league title (and their 13th Premier League crown), extending their advantage over bitter rivals Liverpool, who, at the time, only had 18 titles.

As well as being the last time the Red Devils won the English title, it was also the final season of Sir Alex Ferguson’s tenure, as the legendary coach brough the curtain down on an illustrious two decades at the helm.

United won 28 games, drawing five and losing five. Their five losses came at the hands of Everton (on opening day), Tottenham, Norwich City, Manchester City and Chelsea.

Some of their notable victories during the campaign include a 2-1 win against Liverpool at Anfield, a 3-2 victory over Man City at the Etihad (secured via a last-minute Robin van Persie free kick) and a hot-tempered 3-2 triumph against Chelsea at Stamford Bridge.

United also recorded important wins over Arsenal and Newcastle United (in which a last-minute goal from Javier Hernandez secured a 4-3 victory).

They secured the trophy with four games to spare when they beat Aston Villa 3-0 at Old Trafford on April 22, 2013, with summer signing Robin van Persie scoring a hat-trick.

Ferguson was then given an emotional farewell on his final game in charge at Old Trafford with 75,000 fans on tenterhooks as the Scottish coach paid tribute to his players and gave thanks to the support he received.

“My retirementdoesn’t the end of my life with the club,” Ferguson said to rapturous applause. “I’ll be able to enjoy watching them rather than suffer with them!”

The Manchester United squad that won the Premier League in 2012-13 featured a number of stalwarts, including Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes, with the latter hanging up his boots at the end of the season.

Van Persie was the key player for Ferguson over the course of the campaign, scoring 26 goals on his first season at the club since joining from long-timerivals Arsenal.

The Dutch striker was ably assisted in front of goal by Wayne Rooney and Javier Hernandez, who picked up the slack following Dimitar Berbatov’s transfer to Fulham.

Notably, 2012 was the year Paul Pogba departed the club for Juventus after a tribunal, but United brought in Japanese midfielder Shinji Kagawa, who chipped in with six goals in his first season.

As well as seasoned campaigners such as Nemanja Vidic, Patrice Evra and Rio Ferdinand, United’s squad had plenty of youthful talent, including David de Gea, Phil Jones and Chris Smalling.

While Man United won the Premier League in 2012-13, they struggled to make an impact in other competitions.

They were knocked out of the League Cup by Chelsea in the fourth round, and the Blues also dumped them out of the FA Cup in the sixth round.

Things looked more positive in the Champions League after reaching the final the season before.

Ferguson’s side topped a group containing Galatasaray, Cluj and Braga, but things came unstuck early in the knockout stage as they were drawn against Real Madrid, who had finished runners up to Borussia Dortmund in Group D.

United actually went ahead in the first leg at Santiago Bernabeu, with Danny Welbeck getting the away goal, but they were pegged by former stalwart Cristiano Ronaldo who ensured it ended 1-1.

Source : goal.com